VIZIANAGARAM: Election to municipal vice-chairperson post that was scheduled on Tuesday was postponed due to lack of quorum and it would be held on Wednesday, according to S. Swamy Babu, presiding officer and Project Director of DRDA. While TDP councillors attended, Congress and BSP councillors abstained from the meeting after they failed to project a consensus candidate for the post.

A.Venu (33rd ward), K. Gangadhar (14th ward) and Y. Kumara Swamy (25th ward) are in the race for the post. The post fell vacant after Avanapu Suri Babu of BSP became Chairperson as per the gentlemen agreement between K. Veerabhadra Swamy, MLA and Botcha Satyanarayana, Minister for Housing, three years ago. Later, BSP councillors and the MLA (independent) joined the Congress, though unofficially.

The councillors met this morning in the house of Mr. Veerabhadra Swamy to choose a consensus Congress candidate. When there were differences of opinion on the choice the councillors have reportedly decided to abide by the decision of the Minister, who is likely to announce the name of either Mr. K. Gangadhar or Mr. Kumara Swamy for the post before the Council meeting begins at 11 am on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, the presiding officer waited for an hour from 11 a.m. in the council conference hall where elaborate arrangements were made and announced that election would be held on Wednesday. He said if, for any reason, the election were postponed again, it would be informed to the State Election Commission for another date.