The demand for separate Siddipet district cropped up again in Medak district with the recent statement made by Minister for Rural Development Dokka Manikya Varaprasad that he preferred more number of districts than division of State.

Poster release

The Siddipet Zilla Sadhana Forum had released a poster for its campaign recently at Siddipet followed by a roundtable.


Though the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) deputy floor leader in the Assembly T. Harish Rao is also in favour of forming the Siddipet district, he is not actively advocating it for reasons best known to him.

Congress MLC Farooq Hussian is also extending support for the separate district demand and has promised the agitators to do get an appointment with the Chief Minister.

The campaigners are propose to have 33 mandals from four districts, including that of Medak, in the proposed new district.

The three other districts are Warangal, Karimnagar and Nalgonda. These also includes three assembly constituencies – Siddipet, Dubbak and Gajwel- from the district in addition to Sircilla and Husnabad assembly constituencies from Karimnagar district, part of Jangam constituency from Warangal district and part of two mandals in Nalgonda district.

Forum convener Vanga Ramachandra Reddy says that the longest distance from the district headquarters to the mandal at the last edge should be not more than 60 km where as the current distance of the district headquarters to some mandals was more than 160 km.

No bus facility

“Even Hyderabad, the State capital, is only 104 km to Siddipet. People who need to attend any work at the district headquarters have to lose entire day. If they were forced to stay till evening to complete the work, they have to come to Hyderabad and then reach Siddipet as there is no bus facility from Sangareddy in late evenings,” said Mr. Ramachandra Reddy.

He said that they would present a memorandum to Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy in the first week of February.

  • 33 mandals from Medak, Warangal, Karimnagar, Nalgonda proposed

  • Distance of district headquarters to some mandals is over 160 km