Six sitting Congress women members, including Deputy Speaker, dropped

HYDERABAD: More than one-fourth of the sitting Congress MLAs in the 12th Assembly do not figure in the list of party candidates for the general elections next month.

It is curtains for veteran politicians such as P. Sambasiva Raju, who staked his claim for the Vizianagaram Lok Sabha seat but had to concede the same to his son P.V. Suryanaryana Raju.

This is in addition to three Ministers – Koneru Ranga Rao (Tiruvuru SC), Gollapalli Surya Rao (Allavaram SC) and Murugudu Hanumantha Rao (Mangalagiri) and the Deputy Speaker G. Kuthuhulamma (Vepanjari) whose names do not figure in the list of Congress candidates.

Hopes dashed

Her hopes of getting the ticket from newly created Puthalpattu (SC) constituency in Chittoor were dashed.

Veteran Congress leader Purshotham Reddy, who was done in by delimitation has succeeded in getting his close aide Venkateswara Reddy a ticket from Bhongir.

Another MLA G. Mohan Reddy vacated the seat for his son while Jukkal (SC) MLA S. Gangaram, who represented the seat for five terms, dropped out in favour of his wife Savitri. As he announced earlier, APSRTC chairman M. Satyanarayana Rao has called it a day. So is the case with Mr. Koneru Ranga Rao, who sought ticket for his daughter in vain. Former Minister M. Mareppa lost out as the Aluru seat was made general but he lost the race for the ticket where a woman has been fielded.

One MP dropped

Out of the 48 MLAs dropped, 11 suffered on account of delimitation. They are: Vedas Venkaiah, V.Purshotham Reddy, Komireddy Ramulu, Gouru Charitha Reddy, Mareppa, Ravi Venkata Ramana, Devineni Mallikarjun Rao, Gudibanda Venkat Reddy, Satish Paul Raj, Ch. Ranganatha Raju, Anisetti Bullabbai Reddy and Kudipudi Chittabbai.

Six sitting woman members were dropped while a total of 29 women secured tickets.

Out of the 29 Congress MPs in the present Lok Sabha, only Hindupur MP Col. Nizamuddin was dropped and the ticket was given to Khasim Khan.