Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, Md. Saleem and Samantakamani are TDP candidates for Legislative Council polls

The unhappiness of Leader of Opposition in Legislative Council, Dadi Veerabhadra Rao over not being nominated by Telugu Desam to contest in the elections to the Legislative Council triggered a virtual revolt as over 600 party men including Anakapalle town TDP president quit their posts.

Anakapalle party president B.N. Jagadiswara Rao said there was no indication of Mr. Veerabhadra Rao being denied the ticket till the last minute. He was also reportedly asked to ready nominations but given a go by in the last minute.

A senior leader like Mr. Rao, who is the Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council, should have been taken into confidence and informed about the reasons for not accommodating him, he said. The en masse resignations were sent to the party office in Hyderabad, he told The Hindu over phone on Sunday. He added that they would decide the future course of action at the constituency-level meeting on Monday.

Special Correspondent from Hyderabad adds: On coming to know that he was denied ticket, Mr. Veerabhadra Rao expressed his anger at the TDP president saying this was what he got as a loyal party worker for decades.

Talking to The Hindu , Mr. Rao said the decision of Mr. Naidu to drop him hurt his self-respect. He would not have taken it seriously if he was informed of the decision four days ago.

Mr. Rao also said the human touch was lacking in Mr. Naidu. He added that he was necked out in the race because he was a poor man from a Backward Class community.

Meanwhile, Mr. Y. Ramakrishnudu has said that he had invited Mr. Rao over phone to accompany him in the filing of his nomination papers on Monday.

Earlier at Akiveedu in West Godavari district, Mr. Naidu has announced the names of three candidates for the MLC elections. At a brief press conference here on Sunday, before beginning his ‘Vastunna Meekosam’ padayatra in West Godavari district, Mr. Naidu said that to meet the social justice promises after the B.C. Declaration and focus on SC/STs, it had chosen Yenamala Ramakrishnudu, Md. Saleem, and Samantakamani, as its candidates.

“In the scheme of things and social equations, we might have named some candidates, but Mr. Dadi Veerabhadra Rao is an important leader of the party. I tried to reach him over phone, but he was not available,” said Mr. Naidu.

By not nominating Mr. Dadi Veerabhadra Rao the TDP has not sidelined him, but will be a key functionary in the party and his services were of immense requirement, the TDP chief said. “By sticking to the compulsions of social equations, we might have caused heartburn among many party workers, but that does not mean that they were not required in the party,” Mr. Naidu added.