The Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) and Communist Party of India (ML) Central Organisation – Janashakti have merged and will work under the common banner Marxism-Leninism Mao Tse Tung.

The Unity Declaration signed by CPI (ML) Janashakti general secretary Aloke Mukherjee and CPI (ML) general secretary Viswam was announced at a press conference in Vijayawada addressed by CPI (ML) Central Committee Members Gurram Vijayakumar and Prasadanna and State Committee member M. Bhargava Sree on Thursday.

The unification was forged on the basis of commonness of programme, path of Indian revolution and constitution, commonness on the caste question and agreement on the need for united action, they said.

Both the organisations have agreed to constitute a History Commission for the objective evaluation of the Communist Party’s history after 1967.