HYDERABAD: The CPI (M) State committee has announced the names of its candidates from Musheerabad and Cheriyal Assembly segments that are going to polls on May 29.

Senior trade union leader and CPI (M) State secretariat member S. Veeraiah has been named the party’s nominee from Musheerabad segment while the party’s Warangal district committee member A. Malla Reddy will contest from Cheriyal seat. The announcement, coming at a time when the party is yet to take a decision on entering into an understanding with the Telugu Desam, reflects the party’s resolve to contest from the two seats, irrespective of whether it receives support from other parties or not.

After talks with the CPI on the seats contested by the Left, the CPI (M) has referred the matter pertaining to understanding with other parties to the party’s Polit Bureau that is expected to take a decision during its meeting slated for Tuesday.