Land melas are fraught with irregularities, they say

CPI(M) and its farmer worker’s wing, All India Agricultural Workers Union (AIAWU), have given a joint call for a massive land struggle to expose not only the manner in which the State government had doled out huge chunks of precious land to their own kith and kin and the corporate giants in the name of SEZs, but also the chinks in its much-touted ‘land distribution melas’.

Former MP and central committee member of the party, Tammineni Veerabhadram, and All India president of AIAWU and former MLA, Paturi Ramaiah, who addressed the State convention of the AIAWU in Tirupati on Thursday have charged that the ‘land distribution’ melas periodically being conducted by the government amid a lot of fanfare is fraught with a lot of irregularities and criticised that in most cases genuinely landless were being ignored and only those whose names are recommended by the local ruling party leaders are walking away with the pattas.

It is in this context that the two leaders called upon the government that if it was really honest, it should put in the public domain the list of the beneficiaries who received the pattas during the last six editions of the mela. I

t should also make its stand and policy clear on land distribution melas, they said. They also accused the government of having put in the cold storage the report of the Koneru Ranga Rao Committee on the land issues wherein it had reportedly recommended distribution of 2 acres of land each to all the landless families, since the State had so much of land available under its control. What is wanted is only a political will to do it, they said.

Veerabhadram and Ramaiah have given a call to the rank and file of their organisations to get ready for a ‘land struggle’ from December from village to State-level.

Among the other leaders who participated were State president and general secretary of AIAWU, P. Muralikrishna and B. Venkat, union’s Chittoor district unit secretary, P. Venkatrathnam, besides CPI(M) district secretary, K. Kumar Reddy, CITU secretary K. Murali.