Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: Some prominent leaders from Congress and Telugu Desam parties filed the papers from the local authorities constituencies all over the State on Thursday, the last day of nominations for the State Legislative Council elections. Among them were Dadi Veerabhadra Rao and Palle Raghunatha Reddy of the Telugu Desam, former Minister and former chief whip, who filed papers from Visakhapatam and Anantapur local bodies constituencies, and Rayapati Srinivas (Congress) from Guntur. Ganga Bhavani filed the papers from West Godavari, representing Congress.

They were joined in the exercise by scores of second rank leaders from almost all the parties from the local bodies constituencies.

According to reports received by the Chief Electoral Officer, many of them reached the counters in processions with their followers. The officers manning the counters had a tough time in clearing the last-minute rush after checking the information furnished. However, all those found in the queue till 3 p.m., the deadline, were entertained. The number of nominations from the teachers and graduates constituencies also swelled on the last day.

Tally set to swell

The tally of nominations which reached 181 for the eight graduates' `constituencies, 73 for teachers' constituencies till Wednesday, were expected to double after the final compilation.

The last date for withdrawal is February 26.