Special Correspondent

Srikakulam: Hectic activity was witnessed at the office of the Returning Officer for the Local Authorities Constituency as the Congress official candidate Tankala Babji, another senior Congress leader and ZPTC member Gorle Haribabu and TDP candidate Ch. Sudhakar filed their nomination papers on Thursday, the last day for filing of nominations.

Evidently, as a show of strength, a big rally was organised by the supporters of Mr. Haribabu and workers from parts of the district attended the rally. Similarly, as a show of solidarity, senior Congress leaders who included ZP chairman Palavalasa Rajasekhar, Narasannapeta MLA Dharmana Krishna Das, Srikakulam Municipal chairperson M.V. Padmavathi and others accompanied the convoy of Mr. Babji.

Mr. Sudhakar was accompanied by senior leaders of the TDP who included district unit president Tammineni Sitaram and former Minister G. Appala Suryanarayan and others.

VIZIANAGARAM: Three nominations were filed for Vizianagaram Local Authority Constituency. Vasireddy Varada Rama Rao, former Congress MLA from Therlam, Appikonda Sriramulu Naidu, TDP ZPTC member from Ramabhadrapuram, and Chairman of State Panchayat Raj Chamber and TDP vice-president of Vizianagaram mandal parishad Mamidi Appala Naidu filed nominations.

Supporters of Minister for Forests S. Vijayarama Raju in Parvathipuram revenue division were conspicuously absent because Mr. Rama Rao has been sailing with Botcha Satyanarayana, Minister for Marketing.

Kakinada: K.V.V. Satyanarayana Raju, Chief of Chaitanya group, and P.V. Viswam, chairman of Rajiv Gandhi group of educational institutions, filed their nomination papers along with 12 other aspirants for the graduates' constituency of East and West Godavari districts at the Collectorate. For local authority constituency, the three candidates who filed their nominations were Gidugu Rudraraju (Congress), Nimmakayala China Rajappa (TDP) and Guttula Bulliraju (Independent).

As many as 11 nominations were received for the teachers' constituency. The total number of nominations filed till now to teachers' constituency rose to 25, graduates 32 and local authority 4.