Candidates owing allegiance to the Congress party won 60 societies as against a total of 93, for which results have been announced so far in the cooperative elections in Nellore district.

With this, the road has become clear for the Congress to elect the chairman of the District Central Cooperative Bank (DCCB), elections for which will be held on Feb. 18.

M. Dhanunjaya Reddy, who won from Anantasagaram society, has been tipped as the most possible candidate for the chairman post as he has got the blessings of Finance Minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy. E. Sumanth Reddy, who won from SVD Varini in Vidavalur mandal, is also in the race reportedly with the support of the Chief Minister.

TDP won 18 societies followed by YSRC with seven societies and CPI (M) with one. There are seven independents, most of whom are likely to sail with the ruling party.