APSRTC chairman M. Satyanarayana Rao said that the Congress party would definitely carve out separate Telangana state at an appropriate time.

Addressing party cadres after new DCC president K. Ravinder Rao assumed charge here at the party office on Monday, Mr Satyanarayanara Rao said that AICC president Sonia Gandhi respected the sentiments of Telangana people and asked the UPA government to carve out Telangana state. Accordingly, the UPA government had announced separate Telangana state on December 9, 2009. But, the Seemandhra leaders of both the Congress and TDP have obstructed, he added.

Following threats from the Seemandhra leaders, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had informed the same to UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and postponed the formation of Telangana state, he said and added that Ms. Gandhi had assured him and other Telangana leaders that she would carve out Telaganga at an appropriate time as then Prime Ministers Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi have also favoured Telangana state.

Appreciating the huge turnout for the DCC meeting, he said that the cadres were with the Congress party and there was no need to worry about desertions. He also complimented the MPs for raising the Telangana issue at the national level in Parliament and other places.

Karimnagar MP Ponnam Prabhakar called upon the district Congress committees of Telangana region to convene a meeting of all the 10 districts and take up the issue of Telangana statehood with the party high command.

Stressing on the need to pass resolution for Telangana state by all DCCs, Peddapalli MP G. Vivekanand said that the cases registered on the youth during the statehood movement should be removed.

DCC president K Ravinder Rao promised to take measures for providing nominated posts to the party cadres and give a boost to the party in the district. Earlier, the new DCC president was accorded a rousing welcome by the party cadres in the district.

He assumed charge after paying floral tributes to Indira Gandhi on the occasion of her birth anniversary. Government Whip A Mohan, former Minister T Jeevan Reddy, former legislators Bomma Venkateshwar, K Satyanarayana Goud, G Mukund Reddy, Komireddy Ramulu, former ZP chairman KV Rajeshwara Rao and A Laxman Kumar and others were also present.