Staff Reporter

Y.Sivarami Reddy, P.Raghunatha Reddy elected unopposed

ANANTAPUR: The Congress and TDP have won one MLC seat each from the district unopposed from the twin member Local Authorities Constituency. Election of the candidates was declared by the Returning Officer and Joint Collector Anita Rajendra after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations was over on Monday evening.

Accordingly, Y. Sivarami Reddy of the Congress and P. Raghunatha Reddy of the TDP received the declaration forms of their victory from the Returning Officer in the evening. Another candidate who had filed nomination papers for the local authorities' seat, Y. Venkatrami Reddy, brother of Mr. Saivarami Reddy, had withdrawn his papers earlier in the day, as he had filed papers only as a dummy candidate.

`Sacrifice' quota

A former legislator from Uravakonda Assembly constituency, Mr. Sivarami Reddy, was chosen for the seat by the Congress leadership in the "sacrifice" quota. He had to forego the opportunity to contest the last Assembly election as Uravakonda was given to the CPI (M) as part of the Congress-CPI (M) alliance. It is an irony that Y. Vishveshwar Reddy, who had contested the last Assembly election as the CPI (M) candidate, is in the Congress now as he had joined the ruling party during the local body elections in June last year in protest against the CPI (M)'s seat-sharing adjustment with the TDP. Younger brother of Mr. Sivarami Reddy, Y. Saipratap Reddy, is the sitting Congress legislator from Adoni constituency in Kurnool district.

Balancing factor

On the other hand, the TDP had chosen P. Raghunatha Reddy on the equations of community-wise representation of the party from the district. A former legislator from Nallamada Assembly constituency, Mr. Raghunatha Reddy, is also the chairman of the Balaji group of educational institutions in the district.

Meanwhile, 44 candidates are left in the fray for the Graduates' Constituency seat and nine for the Teachers' seat from Rayalaseema West constituency comprising Anantapur, Kurnool and Kadapa district.