Staff Reporter

62 papers filed for 3 constituencies

GUNTUR: Congress and Telugu Desam Party exuded confidence of winning the Guntur Local Authority Constituency, as the filing of nominations from the MLC constituencies came to a close on Thursday afternoon. Twenty-two candidates filed their nominations at the District Collector's office and prominent among them were GVG Krishna Murthy and Nimmakayala Rajanarayana, backed by the Congress and Telugu Desam Party respectively for Local Authority Constituency.

District Revenue Officer B. Lakshmikantham said 62 candidates had filed their nominations for all the three constituencies. Of them, 43 filed their nominations for the Krishna-Guntur Graduate Constituency, 15 for Krishna-Guntur Teachers' Constituency and four for the Local Authority Constituency.

The road leading to the Collectorate was packed with cars and supporters of candidates. A heavy posse of police was deployed at the office gate and entry was restricted.

Accompanied by a large convoy of supporters, Mr. Murthy arrived in the afternoon. Member of Parliament Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, MLC nominee Rayapati Srinivas and other senior Congress leaders were present, while Mr. Murthy submitted his nomination papers to Joint Collector Rahul Bojja.

TDP leaders Ummareddy Venkateswarlu, Kodela Siva Prasada Rao and Chukka Yesuratnam accompanied Nimmakayala Rajanarayana to the Joint Collector' chamber while he filed his papers.

Ilapuram files papers

MACHILIPATNAM: As many as 13 sets of nominations were filed before Joint Collector S. Suresh Kumar here on Thursday on behalf of the two candidates who are in fray in the elections to the Legislative Council from the Local Authorities' Constituency of Krishna district.

Congress nominee Ilapuram Venkaiah filed four sets of nomination papers, while another set was filed in the name of his son I. Raja as a precaution. Similarly, four sets were filed by TDP nominee Y.B. Rajendra Prasad, while another four sets were filed in the name of his wife Bhramaramba as a dummy candidate.

Mr. Venkaiah arrived in procession from Vijayawada, and those who were present when he filed the papers were MPs Lagadapati Rajagopal (Vijayawada), Botcha Jhansi (Bobbili), ZP chairperson Kukkala Nageswara Rao, Vijayawada Mayor Mallika Begum, District Congress president Segu Venkateswarlu and others. Those who accompanied Mr. Rajendra Prasad were TDP district president Ambati Brahmanaiah, TDP State organising secretary K. Venkata Rao, former minister N. Narasimha Rao, former ZP chairperson N. Sudharani and others.