Congress ‘T’ MPs firm on quitting

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  

Madhu Yaskhi stays away from the meeting

K. Keshava Rao talking to reporters in Hyderabad on Thursday.— Photo: Mohammed. Yousuf
K. Keshava Rao talking to reporters in Hyderabad on Thursday.— Photo: Mohammed. Yousuf

Telangana MPs have ruled out withdrawal of their resignations despite AICC’s assertion that it was not against separate Telangana, but one of them, Madhu Yaskhi continued to differ with others over quitting and stayed away from a meeting here on Thursday.

After the meeting of these MPs at his residence, former MP, K. Keshava Rao told reporters that though they were happy with AICC spokesperson, P. C. Chacko’s statement and saw it as positive development, they would not withdraw their resignations, to keep up the pressure on the high command.

Mr. Rao sought to downplay the differences among the MPs saying Mr. Madhu Yaskhi had only expressed his personal views. “He is among the seven MPs who have submitted their resignations to the AICC along with detailed explanation and there are no differences”. In Delhi, Mr. Madhu said the only difference with other MPs was over the necessity of resignation even after AICC spokesperson’s clarification. Mr. Keshava Rao said the resignations in the format prescribed by the Lok Sabha Speaker, have to be seen in the context of the intense lobbying by Seemandhra MPs and other leaders. “That is the reason why the Telangana MPs do not want to take back the papers. It is because of such pressure Mr. Chacko has clarified but it is not enough”.

Four MPs, G. Vivekananda, Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy, S. Rajaiah and Manda Jaganatham attended today’s meeting. Asked why only four MPs have attended, Mr. Rao said both Gutta Sukhender Reddy and Ponnam Prabhakar had public engagements in their constituencies—Nalgonda and Karimnagar respectively. He too would submit his resignation from the party to the AICC. He denied that Rajya Sabha Member, K. V. P. Ramachandra Rao had a hand in their resignations. Mr. Rajagopal Reddy said he was resigning not to join any other party. The MPs wanted that their papers be accepted before the coming budget session of the Parliament. “Otherwise we will stall the session”. In a related development, Congress MLC, Indrasain Reddy lodged a complaint with AICC against PCC president Botcha Satyanaryana for attending the ‘Jai Andhra Pradesh’ meeting in Rajahmundry.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Will develop A.P. into ‘silicon corridor’: Naidu

Expressing his determination to convert challenges posed after bifurcation into opportunities, Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu on Mon... »