In order to express their solidarity with the Telangana Congress MPs who have launched a 48-hour ‘deeksha’ at Parliament demanding the formation of separate Telangana state, the district Congress leaders have also launched a one-day hunger strike at Telangana Chowk in Karimnagar town on Tuesday.

Town Congress president Kanne Krishna, local leaders Gandhe Mahesh, Madhavi, Rama, Kalpana Ravi, Butchi Reddy, Umapathi, Bhumaiah and others participated in the hunger strike by raising the slogans like ‘Jai Telangana’ and appealed to the party high command to carve out separate Telangana state at the earliest.