Screening panel sat for close to 20 hours to examine the list presented by TPCC chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah

The Congress party’s central screening committee has cleared single names for as many as 60 out of the 119 Assembly constituencies in Telangana.

An official announcement on the first list of candidates for the Assembly is likely to be made once the AICC central election committee, which will meet on March 26, puts its stamp of approval. The AICC general secretary Digvijay Singh said that the list could be declared on April 3 or 4.

During the last two-days, the screening committee sat for close to 20 hours to examine the list presented by the Tëlangana Pradesh Congress Committee chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah and the working president N.Uttam Kumar Reddy. It held wide ranging consultations with the MPs and other senior leaders to take their views on the selection of candidates.

Leaders’ privy to the developments told The Hindu on Sunday that almost all the sitting MLAs are sure to be re-nominated. All the former Ministers in the Kiran Kumar Reddy Government got the nod. Interestingly, the party’s central leadership is said to have cleared names of at least 20 other senior leaders. They include former Speaker K.R.Suresh Reddy (Armoor), former Ministers – T.Jeevan Reddy (Jagtial), G. Chinna Reddy (Wanaparthy), S.Redya Naik (Dornakal), Vanama Venkateswara Rao (Kothagudem) and other seniors like Sambhani Chandrasekhar and Mallu Ravi.