Staff Reporter

TRS, BJP and TDP ZPTC members support Congress nominee

KARIMNAGAR: The Congress retained the Karimnagar Zilla Parishad chairman post with the support of TRS, BJP and TDP ZPTC members, for which elections were held on Wednesday at the ZP conference hall here.

Congress Peddapalli ZPTC member Earla Komuraiah proposed the candidature of Dharmaram ZPTC member A. Laxman Kumar as the ZP chairman candidate and was seconded by Gangadhara ZPTC member G. Babu. TDP Dharmapuri ZPTC member Srikanth Reddy proposed the candidature of Thimmapur ZPTC member K. Satyanarayana for the post which was supported by Laxminarayana Reddy. In the election, the Congress chairman candidate secured a total of 31 votes including 21 Congress ZPTC members, six TRS, two each from BJP and the TDP. While, the TDP candidate secured only 19 votes including one independent and one CPI member.

TD members abstain

On the other hand, five TDP ZPTC members abstained from the meeting while two other TDP members who attended the meeting, did not participate in the voting process.

Collector and Election Officer Sandeep Kumar Sultania declared A. Laxman Kumar elected as the ZP chairman amid cheers by the Congress and the TRS members. The TDP ZPTC members and legislators L. Ramana, S. Devaiah and Ch. Vijayaramana Rao did not attend the swearing in of the new chairman.

TDP charge

Talking to newsmen, Mr. Ramana, who is also the TDP district convener, alleged that the TRS had betrayed the TDP by supporting the Congress nominee. Later, the TDP legislators and ZPTC members along with party leaders including State vice-president M. Damodar Reddy staged a ‘rasta roko’ in protest against the TRS’ ‘unethical’ support to the Congress. They charged the TRS with again betraying the Telangana statehood movement.