Staff Reporter

It proposes Nellore, Gudur LS seats for district

  • District to get one more Lok Sabha constituency
  • Number of Assembly constituencies will come down from 11 to 10
  • Rapur Assembly constituency might become Nellore rural segment

    NELLORE: Redrawing of Parliamentary as well as Assembly constituencies by the Delimitation Commission is all set to change the contours of the constituencies in the district, if the commission's proposals are accepted in toto.

    The commission has proposed two Lok Sabha constituencies-Nellore and Gudur for the district- in which Nellore LS seat will be reserved for the general category. As of now, the district has only one LS seat-Nellore, which has been reserved for the Schedule Caste (SC) and is currently being represented by Union Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare Panabaka Lakshmi of the ruling Congress party.

    No. of segments

    At present, the district has 11 Assembly segments, of which Venkatagiri and Sullurpet have been under Tirupati LS constituency while Udayagiri and Kavali segments came under the Ongole LS. The other seven segments-Rapur, Gudur, Atmakur, Kovur, Sarvepalli, Nellore and Allur have been under the Nellore LS.

    According to the commission's proposals, Kandukuru Assembly segment of Prakasam district will now come under Nellore LS along with Kavali, Udayagiri, Atmakur, Kovur, Nellore and Nellore rural constituencies of the district. Gudur, Sullurpet, Sarvepalli and Venkatagiri of Nellore district as well as Tirupati, Srikalahasti and Satyavedu of Chittoor district will come under the proposed Gudur LS seat.

    Allur to go

    Meanwhile, the commission has proposed 10 Assembly segments for the district. This means, Allur segment will disappear from the electoral map of the district.

    Moreover, the commission has proposed to carve out Nellore rural in the place of Rapur constituency, which is being represented by senior Congress leader Anam Ramnarayana Reddy. And Nellore Assembly segment will then come under Nellore city.

    As per the proposals, set for public hearing shortly, 34 divisions in Nellore Municipal Corporation will come under Nellore city and the rest of the 16 divisions, Indukurpet and T P Gudur under the Nellore rural Assembly constituencies.