District collector G. Kishan said a total of 21,839 officials would be drafted for general election polling scheduled to be held on April 30.

Every polling centre will have one presiding officer and five polling officers.

There are a total of 3007 polling stations spread across 12 Assembly constituencies. As many as 3,488 presiding officers, 3,741 assistant presiding officers and 14,610 polling officers are being deployed for the election duties.

The Collector further said 17 auxiliary polling stations were set up in addition to the main polling stations following the directions of the Election Commission.

As per the guidelines, an auxiliary polling station has to be set up if the numbers of voters exceed 1,300 in rural areas and 1,500 in urban areas.

However, auxiliary polling stations were not set up in Ghanpur, Palakurthy, Mahabubabad, Narsampet and Parkal Assembly segments.

Originally, there were 2,990 polling stations in the district and with the addition of auxiliary stations, the figure has gone up to 3,007.

Collector G. Kishan launched election awareness programmes as part of Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP). He released pamphlets on the importance of casting vote and doing so in ethical manner.