Over 2.21 lakh voters to decide the fate of contestants in Station Ghanpur Assembly constituency

The Station Ghanpur Assembly would go to polls on Sunday where about 2.21 lakh voters would decide the future of the contestants.

District Collector Rahul Bojja is camping at the mandal headquarters overseeing the arrangements.

The Collector, the Central election observer Vijay Singhal and election expenditure observer K Siva Kumar have on Saturday visited the election material distribution centre at Zilla Parishad High School.

Report for duty

Mr. Bojja informed that there about 2,21,451 registered voters in the constituency, of which 1,11,646 were men and 1,09,805 were women. All the polling personnel and presiding officials have reported at their respective polling stations. Similarly micro-observers were also deputed at every polling station.

Of the total 274 polling centres, 102 were identified as sensitive, 120 most sensitive and 14 were identified as naxal-effected and a security scheme was devised accordingly. All polling centres were fitted with web cameras for web-casting the entire election process.

A total of 274 Electronic Voting Machines shifted and an additional 56 machines were kept for emergency requirement. Over 3,000 personnel were drafted for the polling duties. He said all the shops and establishments would remain closed on the day.

One additional SP, three DSPs, 12 circle inspectors, 118 sub-inspectors, 306 assistant sub-inspectors, 810 police constables, 13 women constables, 628 home guards, 215 district guards and 75 sections of CRPF personnel were being deployed for polling duties. K Srihari (TDP), R. Pratap (Congress), T. Rajaiah (TRS), D. Elishan (CPI (M)) and B. Tagore Prasad (Independent) are in the fray.

  • Micro-observers deputed at every polling station

  • Shops and establishments to remain closed today