Cabinet expansion likely today

print   ·   T  T  
Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy
Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy

Chief Minister scheduled to meet Sonia Gandhi at 10 a.m.

HYDERABAD: The eagerly awaited Cabinet expansion of Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy Government is scheduled to take place on Monday evening with induction of 30 to 35 legislators.

Experience seems to be the main criterion in selection of the suitable legislators for the Cabinet posts. Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy, who is already in New Delhi had a round of discussions with the Union Minister and AICC general secretary M. Veerappa Moily on Sunday to narrow down the names.

Dr. Reddy was to take this list to the AICC president Sonia Gandhi on Sunday for her approval but he could not get the appointment.

He is scheduled to meet her at 10 a.m. on Monday morning after which he will fly back to Hyderabad to attend the Cabinet expansion at 6.20 pm.

Governor N. D. Tiwari, will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the new Ministers at Raj Bhavan.

Congress party sources here indicate that a majority of the 18 Ministers’ who won the elections could be retained.

Apart from them, Dr. Reddy is said to be keen on giving a chance to experienced legislators taking care of caste and regional equations leaving no scope for criticism.

As per indications available here, half of the 30 to 35 Ministers to be inducted could be new faces. Except for one or two districts, where party fared badly in the recent elections, legislators from other districts could find a place in the Cabinet.

Another expansion is expected in near future, sources said.


The following are the probable names under consideration for cabinet berth: Nizamabad – P. Sudarshan Reddy, Karimnagar – D. Sridhar Babu, Warangal – Ponnala Lakshmaiah and Baswaraj Saraiah, Medak – J. Geetha Reddy, C. Damodar Raj Narasimha and V. Sunitha Laxma Reddy, Hyderabad – M. Mukesh Goud, Danam Nagender and Dr. P. Shanker Rao.

Ranga Reddy – P. Sabitha Indra Reddy, Nalgonda – K. Jana Reddy, N. Uttam Kumar Reddy and Komatreddy Venkat Reddy, Khammam – R. Venkat Reddy and Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Mahabubnagar – Jupalli Krishna Rao, Guntur – Kanna Lakshminarayana, Kasu Venkatakrishna Reddy, Mopidevi Ramana Rao and Dokka Manikya Varaprasad, Prakasam – Gottipati Ravi Kumar, Nellore – Anam Ramnarayan Reddy.

Kurnool – Erasu Pratap Reddy, Anantapur – J. C. Diwakar Reddy, N. Raghuveera Reddy and Dr. Shailajanath, Chittoor – Galla Aruna Kumari and N. Kiran Kumar Reddy, Kadapa – Md Ahmedullah, Krishna – Perini Venkatramaiah, West Godavari – Vatti Vasant Kumar, East Godavari – Pilli Subashchandra Bose and P. Viswarup, Visakhapatnam – T. Balaraju, Vizianagaram – Botcha Satyanarayana and Srikakulam – Dharmana Prasada Rao and Satrucharla Vijayarama Raju.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Andhra Pradesh police nab two red sanders smugglers

One held in Chennai, the other in West Bengal »