Reluctant to face by-elections, the 18 Congress and TDP MLAs, facing the prospect of being disqualified for defying the party whip during the no-confidence motion, may write to Speaker Nadendla Manohar seeking more time to reply to the show-cause notices.

14-day notice

The Legislature Secretariat had dispatched show-cause notices on April 1 to the rebel MLAs asking them to reply within 14 days.

This followed petitions submitted separately by the Congress Legislature Party and the Telugu Desam Legislature Party seeking their disqualification.

The MLAs’ move was aimed at prolonging the proceedings based on earlier instances where the Speaker had given time to the rebels.

Individual summons

The Speaker would be forced to summon legislators individually and record their statement and also seek clarifications and supporting evidence from the Congress and the TDP.

By-polls are possible only if the petitions are disposed of before May 19.

It was on this day in 2009 that the 14{+t}{+h}Assembly was constituted.

According to clause 151, election to any vacancy has to be filled up within six months. Clause 151 (a) clearly specifies that elections will not be conducted if the next general elections are due in less than one year.

Not game for polls

Sources said the MLAs loyal to YSR Congress are not ready to face elections twice in a short span of one year.

The Congress rebels maintain that they may garner votes in the name of YSR once but not twice.

Some others are already facing problems in their constituencies.


At least two TDP rebels — K. Harishwar Reddy and S. Venugopala Chary — are said to be reluctant to face by-polls. They are not sure how the electorate would react to their defection to the TRS. Another TDP MLA Chinnam Ramakotaiah is also not ready to face the by-election.