BSNL Employees’ Union has won the election conducted for the status of the recognised union.

The election was held on April 16 and counting took place on Thursday. Out of 454 votes polled, the BSNL Employees’ Union got 307 votes, while its nearest rival National Federation of Telecom Employees was polled 118 votes. Other organisations got the remaining votes in the elections. BSNL Employees’ Union Srikakulam wing president G. Rajeswara Rao and general secretary D. Venkateswara Rao thanked the staff for electing their union consecutively for the fifth time.