The Krishna and Godavari water dispute will further affect the interests of all the three regions in the State in case of bifurcation and therefore, continuing the State as an integrated unit is the only solution, leaders and engineers deduced in a meeting here on Saturday.

Addressing a meeting on “bifurcation of the State – river water disputes” organised by APUWJ in Kadapa ZP conference hall, former Rajya Sabha member and YSR Congress leader M.V. Mysura Reddy said bifurcation on the lines of Krishna river catchment and Godavari river catchment areas may avert water disputes to some extent. Bifurcation of the State should be given up to prevent serious water disputes. Problems such as land acquisition and submersion will be aplenty, he said and cited the example of Jurala project, which was unable to use water to its full capacity even two decades after construction.

Retired Engineer-in-Chief of Irrigation Prabhakar Reddy, said a united State was the only solution to avert river water disputes.

Irrigation projects in Krishna catchment area have project-wise water allotment, but it is not so in Godavari catchment areas. Jurala, Srisailam and Nagarjunasagar are integrated projects and they should be filled in that order before water can be given to projects based on flood waters, Mr. R. Prabhakar Reddy said. He recalled that Krishna Pennar project envisaged in 1953 to benefit Rayalaseema and Chennai, was shelved as Andhra leaders opposed it. CPI leader T. Lakshminarayana said there was no scope for changing the river water allotment made by Bachawat Tribunal. He resented distribution of surplus water by Brajesh Kumar Tribunal. The catchment area in Telangana was 65 per cent, 18.5 p.c. in Rayalaseema and 13 p.c. in Andhra region. Water allotment was 266.86 tmc (36 per cent) in Telangana, 122.7 tmc (16 p.c.) in Rayalaseema and 377.47 tmc (49 p.c.) in Andhra, he said. Former IJU leader K. Srinivas Reddy said water disputes were the result of the failure of successive governments. The Andhra Pradesh government failed to put forth its claims on par with Karnataka and Maharashtra. Telugu Desam Party MLA M. Linga Reddy, former MLC M. Venkatasiva Reddy, YSR Congress MLA G. Srikanth Reddy, MLC C. Narayana Reddy, APSRTC Employees Union State president Ch. Chandrasekhar Reddy and others participated.