Only two out of 14 Assembly seats in Mahabubnagar district allotted to them

Muslims also discontented as party fails to accommodate a single minority candidate

After delimitation exercise, the Assembly segments in district raised to 14 from 13

MAHABUBNAGAR: A section of Backward Class leaders from Congress expressed their dissatisfaction over the party high command allocating only two Assembly seats to the BCs out of a total 14 in the district, barring two seats reserved for SCs. They said that once again the party has done injustice to the backward classes contrary to its claim of social justice.

The Muslims also expressed their discontent as the party failed to accommodate a Muslim candidate in the district. They were claiming Mahabubnagar Assembly seat, where there are over 35,000 Muslim voters.

The Congress party has re-nominated ten sitting MLAs in Mahabubnagar district.

Second chance

The party gave yet another chance to K. Damodhar Reddy from Nagarkurnool Assembly segment. Mr. Reddy lost to Nagam Janardhan Reddy of Telugu Desam Party in the last elections (2004).

In Mahabubnagar district, after delimitation exercise, the Assembly segments were raised to 14 from 13. The newly formed Narayanpet Assembly constituency was allotted to a backward class candidate Sugappa, while Shadnagar Assembly seat, which was hitherto reserved for scheduled castes, was made a general seat.

The party has announced Pradeep Reddy as its candidate.

The Alampur Assembly seat was also changed from general to reserved (SC) and the party named Sampath, who is stated to be a staunch follower of MP D.Vittal Rao, as its candidate.

The party also re-nominated sitting MPs D.Vittal Rao and Manda Jagannath as its candidates from Mahabubnagar Lok Sabha and Nagarkurnool Lok Sabha (SC reserved) constituencies respectively.