Battle lines drawn for major panchayats

Staff Reporter
print   ·   T  T  

Parties go all out to ensure victory of their candidates

We did it!:Finance Minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy with the newly-elected panchayat sarpanches in Nellore, on Thursday.–Photo: K. Ravikumar
We did it!:Finance Minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy with the newly-elected panchayat sarpanches in Nellore, on Thursday.–Photo: K. Ravikumar

The leaders of main political parties were also surprised over the way in which sarpanches to over 200 out of the total 927 panchayats were unanimously declared elected.

This was despite the fact that three main political parties were vying to establish their control in rural areas in view of general elections in over nine months.

The leaders of YSR Congress blamed the ruling Congress, saying that it colluded with the main opposition Telugu Desam Party to wrest more seats.

However, all the parties made conflicting claims as to the total number of panchayats their party sympathisers had won. Finance Minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy claimed that nearly 90 sarpanches backed by their party emerged successful.

He felicitated some of them here on Thursday. Now the battle lines are drawn for the panchayats which are going to polls in three phases. All attention is on the major panchayats in the district where the major political parties have started focusing all their energies to get their candidates elected.

The YSRC leaders are confident that their party will continue to show the strength that it demonstrated in the by-elections to the Kovur Assembly and the Nellore Parliamentary Constituency elections in 2012.

The YSRC-backed candidates emerged strong contenders in the Alluru, North Rajupalem, Udayagiri, Vinjamur, Buchireddypalem and Vidavaluru major panchayats. The YSR sentiment and the welfare measures implemented by the YSR’s regime has come handy for the party leaders to continue their sway over the voters.

The candidates, supported by the TDP, are enjoying a lead over others in Seetharampuram, Varikuntapadu and Isukapalli. The TDP is making all efforts to win Isukapalli, which happens to be the native place of TDP district president Beeda Ravichandra and Kavali MLA Beeda Mastan Rao. In Podalakur major panchayat, the candidates supported by the YSRC and Congress are locked in a tight fight. It is the native mandal for YSRC former convener and former zilla parishat chairman Kakani Govardhan Reddy.

The Congress showed its dominance in many of the minor panchayats in the Atmakur Assembly segment, which is represented by Finance Minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Ministers Ganta Srinivasa Rao and B. Gopalakrishna Reddy, along with Central team members, inspecting the site at Surappakasam near Tirupati on Thursday.— Photo: K.V. Poornachandra Kumar

Panel zeroes in on sites for IIT, IISER

A Central committee led by HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao has almost zeroed in on Merlapaka and Panguru villages of Srikalahasti consti... »