Staff Reporter

Camps to be organised in all districts

Queries on integrated mills, says official

Remunerative price for mesta to be discussed

Srikakulam: Andhra Pradesh Jute Development Centre Limited Vice-Chairman and Managing Director B. V. Rama Rao has stated that awareness camps will be organized in every district in the State beginning with Srikakulam on August 9 under the chairmanship of the District Collector.

Addressing a press conference at the local Press Club on Thursday, Mr.Rama Rao said the Commissioner and Principal Secretary of Agriculture would participate in the awareness camps. The jute farmers or otherwise known as mesta farmers would be educated on the marketing potential of jute products and on the need to boost mesta production in the context of the jute park to be established in Visakhapatnam soon.

Crop insurance

He said already there were many enquiries from Delhi and West Bengal on setting up integrated jute factories. Farmers would be encouraged to attend the awareness camps so that their problems were discussed.

The demand for payment of remunerative price for mesta cultivation would also be discussed. The awareness camps would be organized in all the 23 districts in the State.

The Government is appointing 500 primary agricultural workers in the district in the context of implementation of the national crop insurance policy with one village taken as a unit, stated District Collector N. Srikant in a press release.

Candidates who are below 35 years of age with Intermediate as qualification can make application for the job. The appointment will be made on temporary basis. The agricultural workers will be trained in the nature of their job during paddy harvesting in the fields.

The workers will have at least 150 days of work in a year. The agriculture activists will be paid a honorarium of Rs.2,500. After the expiry of work days the service of the activists would be terminated. A district-level committee with the district Collector as chairman and the joint director of agriculture and the chief planning officer as members would be formed.