Police arrested five YSR Congress functionaries Muralikrishna Reddy, Nagendra Reddy, Obul Reddy, Rayappa and Nagaraju on Thursday in connection with an attack on Lingala Sub-Inspector Ramesh Babu in Ambakapalle village in Lingala mandal on July 16.

They were produced in Pulivendula magistrate court and were remanded to judicial custody, Pulivendula DSP Harinath Babu told newsmen. Other accused will be nabbed soon, he added. The Sub-Inspector had opened fire in the air in Ambakapalle on being injured in stone-pelting.