Staff Reporter

ANANTAPUR: Aspirants of party tickets are keeping their fingers crossed and waiting for the announcement of official lists, as all major political parties are prolonging the exercise for selection of candidates for Assembly constituencies in the district. The continuing delay in finalisation of the candidates is also forcing them to put on hold their plans of canvassing.

Most of the aspirants, particularly those belonging to Congress, TDP and Praja Rajyam party, are camping in Hyderabad to pursue their cases with the party leaderships. Only the BJP has announced candidates for two Assembly and one Parliament seat and the Lok Satta for one Assembly seat in the district so far. Minister for Agriculture N. Raghuveera Reddy is the first to launch canvassing, much before the announcement of the election schedule. In TDP, Paritala Sunitha is the lone candidate to have launched her electioneering from Muthuvakuntla village in the newly formed Rapthadu constituency.

There is no clarity over the candidatures of Congress and TDP in the remaining constituencies and PR in all constituencies.