Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: University of Hyderabad Vice-Chancellor Seyed E. Hasnain has been nominated as a member on the newly constituted Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC-PM), according to a communication from the Cabinet Secretariat.

The SAC-PM is the highest body comprising select scientists and secretaries of Science departments of Union Government with a mandate to advise the Prime Minister on all matters relating to Science and Technology in the country. The 32-member committee is headed by noted chemical scientist C.N.R. Rao.

Prof. Hasnain who was also member of the SAC-PM during 2004-2009 was re-invited by the Prime Minister to serve for another term. He is also a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee to the Union Cabinet and Chairman, Biotechnology Advisory Council, AP Government.