S. Harpal Singh

Alliance likely to crumble under its own ‘weight’: sceptics

CPI(M) eyeing Adilabad, Khanapur Assembly seats along with TRS, TDP

Some dissidents likely to shift to Praja Rajyam or Nava Telangana Party

ADILABAD: Activists of the opposition parties in Adilabad district who are partners of the ‘grand alliance’ do make light of likelihood of dissidence cropping up over seat-sharing issue in due course. Some of the leaders in the constituent political outfits however, fear the alliance may crumble under its own ‘weight’ in some constituencies on the issue of seat adjustments.

The fear of dissidence jeopardising the chances of the formidable alliance in at least four Assembly constituencies in the district, is nagging the sceptics.

Announcement of candidates from Sirpur, Asifabad (ST) and Mancherial Assembly constituencies by the TRS well in advance is not likely to help the cause of the alliance.

Mancherial will be strongly sought by the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) for its district chief Gone Hanmanth Rao who has already represented this now renamed constituency once and lost to the Congress candidate in the 2004 elections by a very slender margin.

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti has announced the name of its local leader Aravind Reddy for this seat.

At Sirpur, the TRS has announced the candidature of Kaveti Sammaiah while former TDP legislator Palvai Rajyalaxmi is seen as a strong candidate against Koneru Konappa, the sitting MLA, most likely to be re-nominated by the Congress.

The TRS also has plans to seek Adilabad and Khanapur (ST) Assembly seats for former ZP chairperson Ch. Suhasini Reddy and former legislator A. Govind Naik respectively. These are seats where the TDP has a stronger claim due to its still intact votebank. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) is also eyeing this constituency according to information.

There is a chance of the TRS may settle for the Adilabad Lok Sabha (ST) constituency if the Khanapur seat is allocated to the TDP and vice versa.

ST seats

Asifabad constituency, reserved for the Scheduled Tribes following the delimitation exercise may not pose any problem in seat-sharing though the TRS has declared the name of Pendur Gopi. Similarly, the newly carved-out constituency of Bellampalli is likely to be allocated to the Communist Party of India (CPI) due to its considerable hold over the voters in the coal mines.

In the event of dissidence surfacing, some of the ticket contenders from these constituencies are likely to jump into the Praja Rajyam or Nava Telangana Party.