Special Correspondent

GUNTUR: The University Grants Commission has sanctioned first instalment of Rs.1.85 crores under the 11th Plan Grants to Acharya Nagarjuna University and department heads and coordinators held a meeting with Vice-Chancellor Y.R. Haragopala Reddy in chair on deciding the priorities for spending.

The Andhra Pradesh Council of Science and Technology (APCOST) has chosen Statistics professor Victor Babu and Bhavani Satyanarayana for the A.P. Science Award 2009 for popularisation of science, which would be presented on February 28. APCOST Secretary Ch. Ramana Devi said that Rs.12,500 would be presented to them under the award.

The second meeting of these department heads would be held on Friday.