Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: The Election Commission is likely to issue its order on Monday to allot common election symbols of ‘Rail Engine’ and ‘Whistle’ to Praja Rajyam and Lok Satta in Andhra Pradesh, respectively, and ‘Drums’ to DMDK in Tamil Nadu.

Chief Electoral Officer I. V. Subba Rao said here on Sunday said the allotment of these symbols to the three parties was a “foregone conclusion”, going by the directive by the Supreme Court while disposing of the petitions filed by these parties.

Mr. Rao however, made it clear that the allotment of the common symbols to PR, Lok Satta and DMDK would be made temporarily for these elections.