Special Correspondent

So far the party has released 152 Assembly, 13 LS names

HYDERABAD: Lok Satta Party president Jayaprakash Narayan released fourth list of party candidates for 37 Assembly constituencies and seven Lok Sabha seats, here on Friday.

The Lok Satta so far released the names of 152 candidates to Assembly seats and 13 to Lok Sabha apart from leaving 14 seats to Backward Classes United Front with which LSP has an electoral understanding.

Ninety five per cent of the candidates belonged to middle classes and poorer sections and most of them could not spend even the expenditure stipulated by the Election Commission, leave alone exceeding it, Dr. JP said.

Addressing a press conference, he welcomed the Supreme Court directive to the Election Commission to allot a common symbol to the Lok Satta. The party chose whistle symbol to reflect common man’s latent desire to blow the whistle and break his silence.

Dr.JP said unlike traditional parties, Lok Satta viewed political power only as a means to promote people’s welfare. Conveying his Telugu new year greetings to people, he hoped that the New Year would witness new blood entering politics and transforming the country.