Bodybuilding event a huge draw

print   ·   T  T  
Pack show: The first Sri Talasani Venkatesham Yadav Memorial Bodybuilding Championship was held on Thursday. —
Pack show: The first Sri Talasani Venkatesham Yadav Memorial Bodybuilding Championship was held on Thursday. —

Staff Reporter

HYDERABAD: They came and wooed the crowds. It was a test of their years of hard work and toil as they stepped on the stage at the Talasani Venkatesham Yadav 1st Anniversary Memorial Body Building Championship tournament here on Thursday. The event was inaugurated by actor Mohan Babu and Srihari, another actor, felicitated veteran body builders Venkateshwar Rao, Anil Kumar, Santosh Kumar, M. Raju Yadav and Naidu.

The stage was set and 250 competitors came up to show their rippling muscles to a crowd that cheered them over and over again. Chiselled as they were, the participants were sorted out in nine categories according to their weight. Starting from the 55 kg category, 50 participants had to undergo three rounds of elimination wherein the judges selected five men with the best physique on stage. Moses Singh from Khammam was the winner of the 55 kg category and four others from the same category were given prizes.

Those in the 60 kg category saw tough competition where O. Suresh from Khammam was selected winner. In the 65 kg and 70 kg class, M. Raju Yadav from Ranga Reddy district and S. Mallesh from Nizamabad were declared winners, respectively. In the 75 kg, 80 kg and 85 kg groups, P. Anil Kumar from R.R. District, Hidayat Khan from Khammam and A. Naidu from Vizag were given first prizes. The 90 kg and above 90 kg categories saw Ahmed from R.R. District and A. Satyanarayana bagging the first prizes in their respective groups. Winners of each category were pitted against each other for the late Talasani Venkatesham Yadav Memorial Mr. Andhra Pradesh Body Building Champion, which was won by A. Naidu from Vizag.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Congress leader K. Chiranjeevi waving to the crowd at a day-long protest programme held in Guntur on Saturday. PCC president N. Raghuveera Reddy and MP T. Subbarami Reddy are seen.Photo: T. Vijaya Kumar

Congress fires salvo at Centre

Demands conferment of Special Category Status on State »