Special Correspondent

Adikavi Nannaya University at Rajahmundry

HYDERABAD: The Cabinet, at its meeting here on Saturday, finalised names for the three new universities being established in Nizamabad, Rajahmundry and Kadapa.

The one at Nizamabad will be christened as Telangana University as it serves three districts of this region -- Adilabad, Medak and Nizamabad, the second at Rajahmundry as Adikavi Nannaya University after the great Telugu poet who part-translated Mahabharata into Telugu and the last one at Kadapa as Yogi Vemana University after the poet-philosopher from Rayalaseema.

A Bill to name the universities so will be introduced in the present session of the Assembly. Information Minister Mohd Ali Shabbir, later said that the Telangana University would have 174 colleges affiliated to it, the Adikavi Nannaya University 262 colleges in East and West Godavari districts, and the Yogi Vemana University 82 colleges, all in Kadapa district.

Another Bill

A decision was taken to introduce another Bill during the session, to replace the ordinance by which the Rural Electrical Cooperative Society Act was amended sometime ago. The Cabinet gave approval to give State Government's counter-guarantee for Rs. 8 crores being released to the State Minorities Cooperative Finance Corporation by the National Minorities Finance Corporation. The sum amount would be used on various schemes meant for minorities, including scholarships.

After a discussion on the Bush visit to the city yesterday, Ministers unanimously complimented the Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy for making it a grand success, leaving the US President with "lasting impressions" about the State and its agriculture background.