Staff Reporter

Cinegoers TV awards shortlisted; Pavani is best actress

HYDERABAD: `Chakravakam,' the serial on Gemini TV topped the Andhra Pradesh Cinegoers' Telivision Awards list with seven awards including the best actress recognition for Pavani.

The awards for best serials on different channels announced here on Saturday include `Bommarillu' (Doordarshan), `Nagastram' (ETV), `Devi Bhagavatham' (Gemini), `Maa Punya Kshetraalu' (Maa TV) and `Gold Rush' (Zee Telugu) while the best news channel award went to TV9. For the best children's serial, ETV's `Panchatantram' was chosen and `Mee Inti Vanta' on Zee Telugu was adjudged as best among women oriented programmes.

Best actor

The awards in the individual categories include Jackie as best actor (`Yendamavulu' on ETV), A.R.C.Babu and Ramaprabha as best character actor and actress (`Chakravakam'), Vinod Bala as best supporting actor (`Thurpu Padamara' on Gemini) and Madhumani as best supporting actress (`Kurukshetram' on ETV).

Selvaraj (`Chakravakam') was selected as best new hero while Varsha (`Kurukshetram' on ETV) as best new heroine.

Telangana Shakuntala has been selected for Lifetime Achievement Award.