Staff Reporter

CPI(M) asks for four ZPTC, 72 MPTC seats as part of its seat adjustment with the TDP

TDP suffers body blow in Kadiri constituencyFormer district general secretary of the party joins CongressBJP waging a lone battle to sustain its existence

ANANTAPUR: The local bodies' elections in the district appear to be encouraging switching of loyalties by activists and mandal-level leaders of all parties.

The TDP suffered a big blow in Kadiri constituency on Thursday where it is already struggling to recover from loss of cadre since 1999, as the seat was given to BJP in seat sharing.

Former district general secretary of the party S. Md. Ismail quit the party to join Congress objecting to the party's decision of appointing K. Venkata Prasad as constituency incharge.

Similarly, Congress has weaned away several mandal level leaders of the TDP in Anantapur, Singanamala, Gorantla, Hindupur and Madakasira constituencies.

Even Congress has also lost a few mandal-level leaders to TDP in Anantapur.

Meanwhile, the BJP is waging a lone battle to sustain its existence as the party has very poor base in rural areas of the district. The fact that the party is being run without having an office for about an year explains it all.

Though the party could win four wards in municipal elections in Dharmavaram and Guntakal towns in the last municipal elections without any tie-up, it is struggling even to find candidates now.

The party could win one ZPTC and one MPP in 2001 as Tarimela Seshananda Reddy, a strong leader in Singanamala constituency, was with the BJP.

After his death last year, his brother T. Sharthchandra Reddy had joined TDP a couple of months back.

Irrespective of its prospects, the party is planning to contest 20 ZPTC and 125 MPTC seats alone this time.

On the other hand, CPI(M) is learnt to have asked four ZPTC seats and 72 MPTC seats as part of its seat adjustment with the TDP.

Meanwhile, 23 candidates filed their nomination papers for ZPTC seats in the district on Thursday taking the total to 40 so far.

Similarly, 299 nominations were received for MPTC seats taking the total to 399 so far.