M.L.Melly Maitreyi

HYDERABAD: More than half of the women legislators, who made it to the 13th Legislative Assembly are first timers.

As many as 34 women have been elected, eight more than in the last Assembly. Of them, Congress has a large contingent of 21, followed by TDP (10), Praja Rajyam Party (two) and CPI (one). But, together, they constitute just 13 per cent of the total strength of 294, a far cry from the proposed 33 per cent representation.

Of 32 women candidates fielded by the Congress, 21 emerged victorious. Little known women leaders came to limelight in this elections by trouncing well known film personalities and seasoned politicians.

Giant killer

Bangaru Usharani (Palakole) was the giant killer having humbled actor and PR chief Chiranjeevi. No mean was the achievement of actor Jayasudha, who handed out a defeat to senior TDP leader and former Minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav from Secunderabad.

The performance of senior Congress legislators like J. Geetha Reddy (Zaheerabad), Deputy Speaker G. Kuthuhulamma (Gangadhara Nellore) and P. Sabitha Indra Reddy (Maheshwaram) was notable because of their winning streak even after changing their constituencies. Legislators such as V. Sunitha Lakshma Reddy (Narsapur), Konda Surekha (Parkal) and Galla Aruna (Chandragiri) returned to the Assembly for the third time.

PR legislators – Shoba Nagi Reddy (Allagadda) and Vanga Geetha (Pithapuram) have prior political experience. In the case of TDP, six of them are freshers while the other four have won on more than one occasion.

In the Lok Sabha, five women candidates won this time over three in 2004. In the last parliamentary elections, Renuka Chowdary, D. Purandeswari and Panabaka Lakshmi made it to the Union Council of Ministers. But, this time, with the exception of Ms. Renuka Chowdary, the other two have shifted to new constituencies and came out triumphant. The other three who got elected are M. Vijayashanti (TRS) from Medak, Congress candidates Botcha Jhansi from Vizianagaram and Killi Krupa Rani from Srikakulam.

First timers

Both Vijayashanti and Krupa Rani are first time entrants to Lok Sabha and the latter’s victory is significant as she defeated Telugu Desam strongman K. Yerran Naidu.

TRS does not have woman representative as it did not field any woman while the CPI has lone member B.Chandravathi, who was elected from Wyra (ST) constituency.