S. Venugopal

MAHABUBNAGAR: Non-cooperation by the Telugu Desam candidates in transferring their Assembly votes for the Lok Sabha candidate is cited by TRS leaders as the prime reason for Grand Alliance candidate from Mahabubnagar K. Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) not getting a big majority in the election.

They are of the view that while votes of TRS in the district translated into those for TDP contestants in the Assembly segments, the reverse did not happen, as it should normally have.

TRS contested from the two Lok Sabha seats of Mahabubnagar and Nagarkurnool (SC) and three Assembly seats - Mahabubnagar, Shadnagar and Makthal in the district, leaving the remaining eleven Assembly seats to its alliance partner, TDP.

In Mahabubnagar LS constituency, from where Mr. Rao contested, the TDP fielded candidates in Narayanpet, Kodangal, Deverkadra and Jadcharla leaving Mahabubnagar, Makthal, Shadnagar to TRS. However, in the last hour, TDP leader K. Dayakar Reddy who got the party ticket in a rather dramatic fashion, contested from Makthal against the alliance partner from the TRS. The voting pattern showed that TRS voters have voted for the TDP candidates where the TRS did not field its leaders, but it was not vice-versa. Out of the seven Assembly segments in Mahabubnagar LS constituency, TDP candidates in five Assembly constituencies got more votes than Mr. Rao.

D. Vittal Rao (Congress) from Mahabubnagar LS got more votes than Mr. Chandrasekhar Rao in Jadcharla, Kodangal and Makthal, despite the TDP candidates emerging victorious.

In Narayanpet and Deverkadra, the TRS leader got less votes than the TDP contestants in the respective Assembly segments, but in Makthal and Jadcharla, the TDP Assembly contestants got lesser number of votes than the Congress Lok Sabha contestant. The Mahabubnagar Assembly segment alone saved Mr. Rao by giving him a whopping 28,000 odd votes. For Nagarkurnool LS, the TDP candidates from all seven Assembly segments together polled a total of 4,19,608 votes, while the TRS contestant, Guvala Balraj, could only manage 3,73,027 votes.