Special Correspondent

Oath invoked in the name of gods turned invalid on first day

11 out of 17 other MLAs who did not turn up on day one also take oath

Ministers also deviated from the format when they were sworn in: Lok Satta chief

HYDERABAD: As many as 19 MLAs took the oath for the second time in the Assembly on Thursday as the oath taken on the opening day was in violation of the rules.

These members had invoked their parents, local deities, regions and the people of their respective constituencies while taking the oath on Wednesday ignoring that prescribed in the rules. Among such persons were Arogyasri & Health Insurance Minister Pithani Satyanarayana. Vanga Geetha (Praja Rajyamj) and E. Pratap Reddy (Congress). Also, 11 out of the 17 other legislators, who did not turn up on Wednesday, completed the formality. They included Revenue Minister Dharmana Prasada Rao and Transport Minister S. Vijayarama Raju (Transport) who were away in Srikakulam district to attend the funeral of MLA-elect K. Revathipathi.

Fine mooted

Pro tem Speaker J. C. Diwakar Reddy conceded to a suggestion by Telugu Desam deputy leader P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju that the oath taken by these members may not be valid because they had deviated from the rules. Mr. Raju demanded imposition of penalty of Rs. 500 on each of these members but Mr. Reddy did not accept this.

Lok Satta president Jayaprakash Narayan pointed out that even Ministers deviated from the format when they were sworn in on May 25He sought a ruling from the pro tem Speaker who, however, turned down the plea. Finance and Legislative Affairs Minister K. Rosaiah said if the members were sticklers to rules, they should implement the rules from now itself by not stalling the regular business of the House, especially during the question hour.