Staff Reporter

ANANTAPUR: D. Jagadish has been unanimously elected as the new district secretary of the Communist Party of India (CPI) for a term of three years. The election was necessitated as the outgoing secretary M.V. Ramana, who has already put in nine years had refused to continue.

The new district executive was finalised in the wee hours of Saturday after hectic deliberations between the district and State leaders of the party. Apart from Jagadish, outgoing secretary M.V. Ramana, C. Jaffer, D. Shakuntala, P. Narayanaswamy, J. Raja Reddy, R. Ameena, C. Mallikarjuna, J. Chalapathi, N. Laxmaiah, D. Keshava Reddy and Sanjeevamma figure in the new executive panel.