TDP alleges irregularities in lift scheme

Achampet MLA charged with

taking bribe

Meeting discusses only one out of 80 subjects in agenda

MAHABUBNAGAR: Pandemonium prevailed in the Zilla Parsishad general body meeting here on Wednesday, the first day of the two-day meeting.

Members traded charges and at one stage, they tried to manhandle one another other. The trouble began with the circulation of handbill allegedly by the Telugu Desam Party in which it contended that there were many irregularities in the construction of Kalwakurthy Lift Irrigation Scheme (KLIS) in the district. The handbill also mentioned the names of some Congress legislators, including Achampet legislator Vamshi Krishna, who had allegedly received bribe from contractors.

Spurious seeds

During question hour, several members demanded stern action against persons selling spurious seeds. When the question of Kalwakurthy scheme was taken up, Mr. Vamshi Krishna (Congress) took serious objection to the contents of the handbill and challenged the TDP to prove that he had taken money in the construction of the scheme and that he would resign if the charge was proved. Otherwise, he asked the TDP leaders to resign. At this juncture Kalwakurthy MLA Yadma Krisna Reddy and MLC Revanth Reddy began trading charges. Following this, pandemonium prevailed in the House with members jostling each other. Zilla Parishad Chairperson K. Damodhar Reddy adjourned the house till 3 p.m.

When the meeting resumed, Congress members sought apology from the TDP for levelling charges against the Achampet MLA while TDP members demanded unconditional apology from the Congress for abusing personally MLC Revanth Reddy. However, the Chairman passed a ruling that no handbills or other papers should not be circulated in the meeting without the permission of the Chair.

The meeting discussed only one subject (agriculture) out of some 80 subjects in the agenda.

Minister for Rural Development G. Chinna Reddy legislators -- Puli Veeranna, D.K. Aruna, Jupally Krihna Rao, Yedma Kishta Reddy, Vamshi Krishna, TDLP deputy leader Nagam Janardhan Reddy and Nagar Kurnool Member of Parliamen M. Jagannatham participated in the discussions.