Council to debate inflation, land issues and GO 610

print   ·   T  T  
A. Chakrapani
A. Chakrapani

HYDERABAD: The Business Advisory Committee of the Legislative Council has decided to take up debates on rise in prices of essential commodities, implementation of GO 610, Sachar committee report and land distribution issues during the brief monsoon session.

At a meeting chaired by Council Chairman A. Chakrapani here on Tuesday, the BAC identified five issues that would be debated under short notice and starred questions.

For minorities

The discussion on the Sachar Committee report would include a reference to the implementation of Prime Minister’s 15-Point Programme for the minorities. The controversy over GO 34 for encouraging micro irrigation projects in Telangana and status of Wakf properties are also on the agenda. The sittings will be held from 10 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. till July 27.

Legislative Affairs Minister K. Rosaiah urged the MLCs to make optimum use of the debates to highlight public issues. “Let us emulate the standards of the Rajya Sabha,” he is reported to have remarked. He was quoted as saying that the Government was ready to discuss all issues that came up for discussions. The meeting was attended by TDP floor leader in the Council Dadi Veerabhadra Rao, Puvvada Nageswara Rao (CPI) and Ch. Seetharamulu (CPI-M).

Tributes to ex-PM

Members of all parties in the Legislative Council recalled the rich services rendered to the nation by former Prime Minister Chandra Shekar on Tuesday.

A role model

They lauded the late leader’s uncompromising attitude against injustice, his simplicity, integrity and socialist values were recalled.

Chief Minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy, who moved a condolence motion, said that Chandra Shekar was a role model for all in observing parliamentary democracy. Council Chairman A. Chakrapani and other members observed two-minute silence as a mark of respect for the departed leader.

TDP floor leader Dadi Veerabhadra Rao said Chandra Shekar did not hesitate to take on the Congress leadership and quit it to form a new party, if he did not like the policies.

Legislative Affairs Minister K. Rosaiah, Puvvada Nageswara Rao (CPI), Ch. Seetharamulu (CPI-M), Dilip Kumar (TRS), Paladagu Venkat Rao, Md. Jani, K. Yadava Reddy, Ganga Bhavani (all Congress), P. Raghunatha Reddy (TDP), B. Mohan Reddy, D. Rami Reddy and Hyder Rizvi (MIM) paid tributes.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH