Special Correspondent

Cooption members will have no voting rights

SRIKAKULAM: Arrangements for the election of members to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from the teachers, graduates and local authorties Constituencies, to be held on March 17, have been reviewed by the Collector, V.N.Vishnu, Joint Collector, M.Veerabramaiah, Superintendent of Police, Manish Kumar Sinha and other senior officials at the Collectorate here on Tuesday. There would be one polling station each for the three segments in every mandal. In addition to these, separate polling stations would be set up in municipalities (for councillors) and the Zilla Parishad (for ZPTC members).

Counting on March 21

Mr.Vishnu clarified that cooption members would have no voting rights and MLAs and MPs would have to exercise their votes in the municipalities to which they had opted in the past.

While the polling stations for the graduates constituency would have one Polling Officer (PO) and three staff members, the other two constituencies would have one Polling Officer and two staff members each.

There are 31,679 voters for the graduates constituency, 3,410 voters for the teachers constituency and 796 voters for the local authorities constituency for whom 55,38 and 43 polling stations would be set up.

Counting of votes of Local Authorities Constituency would take place at the Government Degree College here on March 21 and the same for the teachers and graduates constituencies would take place in Visakhapatnam on 23.