Staff Reporter

VISAKHAPATNAM: As many as 34 nominations were filed on Tuesday for the Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation elections scheduled for February 19. This takes the total number to 98. A day after the CPI(M) released its first list, 21 nominees belonging to it filed the papers on Tuesday. Among them are the city party secretary K. Lokanadham (Ward 23) and R. Bhagyalakshmi (Ward 38) of AIDWA. G. Vamana Murthy (Ward 10) of CPI also filed his nomination.

Five from the Congress, two each of CPI and BJP and three of TDP filed papers on the day.

Congress list

The Congress is likely to release its list on February 2, Visakhapatnam-I MLA and City Congress president Dronamraju Srinivasa Rao has said. The list would be released along with the B-forms, he said. The Pradesh Congress Committee convened a meeting of party MLAs and leaders from the district on Wednesday in Hyderabad.

Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy and PCC president K. Keshava Rao had a meeting with party leaders on Monday too. Mr. Srinivasa Rao said he had submitted a list of aspirants in wards falling in his constituency to the party leadership without recommending any individual names. His counterparts in Visakhapatnam-II and Pendurthy constituencies also took up a similar exercise on Tuesday, he told reporters who met him at the Congress office here. On the truck with the Left parties, he said the CPI would fight the election in alliance with the Congress. The party leadership would discuss and take a decision on its demand for earmarking nine wards. On his part, he had suggested that the wards allotted to the CPI should not be the ones where Congress had strength or vice versa. He was also in favour of alliance with the CPI(M) in view its struggles and fighting the 2004 elections together. (However, a TDP-CPI(M) alliance seemed to have been worked out.) He said a decision on the party's nominee for the mayor post would be taken by the high command.