Former Congress MP Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy has been unanimously elected as the national president of Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSR Congress Party).

Founder president of YSR Congress Party K. Shiva Kumar, in a letter submitted to the Election Commission of India on Monday, said that the extraordinary general body meeting of the party was held on February 15 and unanimously resolved to accept the resignation of the present office-bearers.

Further, the letter stated that Mr. Jagan was unanimously, proposed, seconded and elected as national president of YSR Congress Party. The other office-bearers include: K. Shiva Kumar (vice-president), Bajireddi Goverdhan (general secretary), R. Kiran Kumar Reddy (treasurer), H.S. Rahman (joint secretary), Pulla Bhaskar (organising secretary), Janga Krishnamurthy (publicity secretary) and Kolli Nirmala Kumar (women wing secretary). The head office of the YSR Congress Party was changed to Sagar Society and the national president was authorised to correspond with the Election Commission for any further clarifications. Mr. Goverdhan and Mr. Krishnamurthy are former Congress MLAs, while Mr. Rahman was TRS MLC. Mr. Bhaskar, husband of Congress MLC Pulla Padmavati, was the Warangal city Congress president.

It may be mentioned here that Mr. Jagan applied to the Election Commission to register YSR Party. Due to certain hitches, the registration could not be done. In the meantime, Mr. Shiva Kumar came forward to join hands with Mr. Jagan and agreed to elect the latter as national president. Sources said Mr. Jagan plans to announce the formation of the new party at Idupulapaya Estate in Kadapa district sometime in March before gearing up for the bypolls to Kadapa Parliamentary seat and Pulivendula Assembly seat vacated by his mother Y.S. Vijayamma.

Formation of the new party likely to be announced at Idupulapaya Estate sometime in March