S. Harpal Singh

Candidate’s personal standing also worked in securing victory

ADILABAD: Allolla Indrakaran Reddy’s impressive win in the byelection to Adilabad Lok Sabha seat has proved that people in the constituency rooted for development more than anything else. The fact that voters in Gubdi village of Tamsi mandal had boycotted the polling because of lack of development amply demonstrates what development means to the common man.

In addition to the development factor, the candidate’s personal standing also worked as is evident from the number of votes he polled across the seven Assembly segments. In fact he secured about 2,000 more votes than the tally of the Congress candidate in the byelection held simultaneously to Khanapur (ST) Assembly constituency.

The TRS finished a poor third polling 1,45,000 against the Congress party’s 3,23,000 and Telugu Desam Party’s 2,67,000 approximately. Its candidate Mr. Madhusudhan Reddy had secured over 4,15,000 votes as an alliance candidate in the 2004 elections against the TDP candidate S. Venugopalachary’s over 3,74,000 votes.

Dismal performance

It is not just the absence of a strong sentiment factor that led to the dismal performance of the Telangana protagonist party. Going by certain pointers it can be inferred that even staunch supporters of the cause of Telangana did not vote for that party. For example, the Government employees from Telangana region do not seem to have sided with TRS as they did in the 2004 election. Of the 400 odd postal ballots that were indented by the employees only 22 were cast. While 11 were cast in favour of TRS 8 were found to be invalid.

Mudhole, Nirmal and Sirpur Assembly segments gave the leads of 17,000, 16,000 and 12,000 plus votes to the Congress candidate in that order. The TRS performed dismally in all these segments. It could bag only under 10,000 votes this time against the over 80,000 votes in 2004.

TD vote bank

The TDP seems to have its vote bank intact as Mr. Venugopalachary’s tally shows. In 2004 elections when a high of 73 per cent polling was registered he had secured so many votes that too in a direct fight with the alliance candidate.

“The over 2.5 lakhs voters that sided with us constitute our vote bank,” claimed Gone Hanmanth Rao, district president of the party.

Mynampalli wins

The flamboyant Ramayampet former legislator Padma Devender Reddy of TRS was driven to the second position in a fierce triangular fight in which the TDP Medak district president Mynampalli Hanumanth Rao won the election with a margin of 10,973 votes. Mynampalli received 49,341 votes compared to 38,368 of TRS and 33,543 of Vithal Reddy (INC). Hanumanth Rao maintained clear margin over his rivals right from the first round.

Describing it as a victory of the cadre Mynampalli told reporters that TDP government’s past record and the social service organisations he and his wife run in Ramayampet helped him in clinching victory.