Staff Reporter

Reluctance attributed to TDP, TRS’ ascertained candidatures

Congress keen to field Nirmal MLA A. Indrakaran Reddy for Lok Sabha seat

TDP declares S. Venugopalachary, former Union Minister for Lok Sabha seat

ADILABAD: The reluctance of ‘weighty’ Congressmen here to contest the byelections to Adilabad Lok Sabha and Khanapur Assembly (ST) constituencies is perhaps an indicator of the rather low degree of confidence in them. In the background of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) deciding upon its candidates well in advance and there being no secret about the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) candidates, this disinclination has come into sharper focus.

The Congress seems to be keen on the candidature of A. Indrakaran Reddy, Nirmal MLA for the Lok Sabha seat. The carrot of a Cabinet berth has been dangled in front of him according to sources. If he manages to win the election, he will be accommodated in the Union Cabinet and if he loses, he may be given a berth in the State Cabinet, according to the grapevine.

There are other names like that of MLC K. Premsagar Rao and District Congress Committee (DCC) president P. Ravinder Rao also being discussed in party fora for the Lok Sabha seat. However, like in Mr. Indrakaran Reddy’s case they too are unwilling to contest for the tenure left and so, the party is unlikely to consider their names.

The TDP has declared S. Venugopalachary, its spokesman and a former Union Minister as the candidate for the Lok Sabha seat. This has not only provided a direction to party cadres, it has saved them from going through the agony of the guessing game keeping their enthusiasm intact thereby.

Khanapur seat

Mr. Venugopalachary also hails from Nirmal town like Mr. Indrakaran Reddy and is considered to be his arch rival. For the Khanapur Assembly seat, the TDP will field Rathod Ramesh, Adilabad ZP chairman and a former MLA from this constituency. He had lost the 2004 elections to Mr. Govind Naik of Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) and is too willing to avenge the defeat.

The list of aspirants for a Congress ticket for Khanapur seat is quite long. However, it comprises of rank outsiders and second-rung leaders. A few doctors, a Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituency member and some tribal leaders are ones who are making a beeline for the party ticket.