Special Correspondent

HYDERABAD: In a surprising move, the State Government transferred A.K. Mohanty from the key post of Director-General (DG), OCTOPUS (Organisation for Counter Terrorist Operations), the premier agency and posted him as Chairman, Andhra Pradesh Road Safety Authority.

Mr. Mohanty is among the 35 IPS officers who were re-shuffled on a day when the byelections to 18 Assembly and four Lok Sabha constituencies were announced by the Election Commission of India.

The orders were issued late on Wednesday evening.

The re-shuffle includes promotion of 14 officers, many of them from the rank of Superintendent (SP) to Deputy-Inspector General (DIG) and from DIG to Inspector-General.

Following are the transfers, promotions and postings.

K.R. Nandan, DG, Special Protection Force, Hyderabad, is posted as Chairman, AP State Police Housing Corporation. P.G. Kumar, DG & IG, Prisons and Director, Correctional Services, Hyderabad, is posted as DG, AP Special Police Battalions.

Umesh Kumar, Chairman, AP State Road Safety Authority is posted Addl. DG, Welfare.

A. Sivasankar, ADGP (Railways), posted as DG, Special Protection Force, Hyderabad.

M. Bhaskar Addl. DG (Legal), posted as Commissioner of Printing, Stationery & Stores Purchase Department. Lokendra Sharma, Addl. DG (Human Rights), posted as DG & IG, Prisons and Director, Correctional Services. Officers of the rank of IG who were transferred included Shriram Tiwari, posted IGP (Organisation), S. Venkataramana Murthy, posted Addl. DG, Coordination, Vinay Ranjan Ray, Director, Police Communications, posted as IGP, Hyderabad. T. Krishna Prasad, Director-Vigilance, APSRTC, posted as Director, Police Communications. Gautam Damodar Sawang on return from GOI posted as IGP (L&O) Hyderabad. Satyanarayan, IGP Guntur posted as IG Visakhapatnam, B.L. Meena posted as Director-Vigilance, APSRTC. Ch. D. Tirumala Rao, DIG, SIB, promoted and posted IG, OCTOPUS.